• Located in the Southeastern corner of the the state, Henry County is bounded to the east by the State of Georgia and the Chattahoochee River. Henry County encompasses 557 square miles and is identified as part of the coastal plain or Wiregrass region. Abbeville is approximately 28 miles north of Dothan, Alabama and Headland is only 7 miles from Dothan.

    We have five schools that are nestled in two of the most distinctive towns in the county: Abbeville, the county seat where the Central Office is also located, and Headland. Our two elementary schools range from 520 to 830 students; our middle school houses 600 students; and our two high schools house between 350 and 500 students. All of our schools are accredited by the State of Alabama and by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Both towns have a relaxed atmosphere and you will feel at home when you visit. In our District, we take pride in offering quality Education to our students through the most advanced courses in our curriculum.

    For more information about our schools, please see the schools tab at the top of this page for links to each school. For a Google Map of the Henry County Board of Education, please click on the circle "map" link at the top right of each page.